Frederick P. Zuspan Award

The Frederick P. Zuspan Award recognizes excellence in collaborative research between obstetricians and anesthesiologists. The award is named in honor of Frederick P. Zuspan, a leading researcher in the field of maternal-fetal medicine and expert on preeclampsia.

How to Apply

Abstracts submitted for the SOAP Annual Meeting may qualify for the Zuspan Award in addition to other awards. During the application process, please indicate whether the abstract is eligible for this award and which authors are obstetricians and which are anesthesiologists. It is not appropriate to add an obstetrician’s name to an abstract in order to qualify.


Abstracts must be original research – not case reports, not reviews of the literature, and not meta-analyses. Work must be a collaboration of at least one anesthesiologist and at least one obstetrician working together on an original research project that results in an abstract. The judging is done by a group of SOAP members selected by the Annual Meeting Committee and approved by the SOAP Board of Directors.


The award is $500 to the anesthesiologist.

Previous Award Recipients

2019 Danny Mireault, M.D.
2018 Shunsuke Hyuga, M.D.
2017 Jeremy Juang, M.D., Ph.D.
2016 Brendan Carvalho, M.B., B.Ch., FRCA, M.D.C.H.
2015 Chiraag Talati, M.B.B.S., B.S.c. (Hons), FRCA
2014 Mrinalini Balki, M.D.
2013 Emmanuel K. Srofenyoh, M.D., FWACS
2012 Suresh Anandakrishnan, M.D.S
2011 Elena Reitman, M.D.
2010 Mrinalini Balki, M.D.
2009 Mrinalini Balki, M.D.
2008 Adrienne Stewart, M.B., B. S.
2007 Ronald B. George, M.D.
2006 Geraldine O’Sullivan, M.D.
2005 Mughina Siddiqui, M.D.
2004 Errol R. Norwitz, M.D.