2023 Annual Meeting Honorees

Congratulations to our 2023 Annual Meeting honorees, including research competition winners, award recipients, grant recipients, and Centers of Excellence designees! Below is a summary in case you missed the awards ceremony. We encourage you to share congratulations on social media using #SOAPAM2023.

Gertie Marx Research Competition
First Place: Elizabeth Colburn, B.A., Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine, Montgomery, AL, USA
Second Place: Amber Wesoloski, BS/BSC, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN, USA
Third Place: Adnan Al-maaitah, MBBS, Beth Israel Deacon Medical Center, Maiden, MA, USA

Best Research Paper Competition
First Place: Jessica Ansari, MD, Stanford University, Pacifica, California USA

Best Case Reports Competition (Top 10)
Michael Balot, MD, Mount Sinai West and Morningside, New York, NY, USA
Abdo Barakat, MD, MS, Columbia University Medical Center, New York, NY, USA
Pamela Huang, MD, University of California San Francisco, San Francisco, CA, USA
Leila Katabi, MD, MA, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI USA
Karim Shuaib, MD, NYP Columbia, New York, NY, USA 
Micah de Valle, RN, University of Texas Medical Branch John Sealy School of Medicine, Galveston, TX, USA
Yash Bisen, BA, Northwell, Fremont, CA, USA
Mariana Montes, MD, MPH, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, USA
Eleanor Kenny, MD, McGaw Northwestern, Chicago, IL, USA

Award Recipients
Distinguished Service Award
: Brenda Bucklin, MD, University of Colorado School of Medicine, Aurora, ColoradoUSA
Teacher of the Year Award (More than 10 Years): Bhavani Kodali, MD, University of Maryland Medical Center, Lutherville, Maryland USA
Teacher of the Year Award (Less than 10 Years): Jennifer Dominguez, MD, Duke University School of Medicine, Durham, NC USA
Diversity & Inclusivity Award: Dr. Feyce Peralta, MD, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, IL,  USA
Patient Safety Award: Dr. Jean Guglielminotti, Columbia University, New York, New York USA
Frederick P. Zuspan AwardJessica Ansari, MD, Stanford University, Pacifica, California USA

SOAP/Kybele International Outreach Grant
Anjan Saha, MD, PhD Columbia University, New York, New York USA

Diversity & Inclusivity Mentored Grant
Amy Krepps, MD, MPH & Cristina Wood, MD, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO, USA
Brittany Burton, MD and Cristianna Vallera, MD, University of California Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Center of Excellence Designees
The Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology (SOAP) is pleased to announce the following institutions and obstetric anesthesia programs have attained the prestigious SOAP Center of Excellence (COE) designation:

  • NYU Langone Hospital- Brooklyn – Brooklyn, NY
  • Rabin Medical Center, Beilinson Hospital - Petach Tikvah, Israel
  • Staten Island University Hospital Northwell Health - Staten Island, NY
  • University of Miami - Miami, FL
  • The University of Virginia - Charlottesville, VA
  • University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center, MacDonald Women’s Hospital – Cleveland, OH
  • Virginia Mason Medical Center – Seattle, WA

The following institutions and obstetric anesthesia programs have renewed the prestigious SOAP Center of Excellence (COE) designation initially granted in 2018:

• Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
• Brigham and Women's Hospital
• Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
• Colorado Fetal Care Center, Children's Hospital Colorado
• Columbia University
• Duke University
• Hospital e Maternidade Santa Joana
• Icahn School Of Medicine at Mount Sinai
• Johns Hopkins Hospital
• Juntendo University Hospital
• Massachusetts General Hospital
• Mercy Hospital St. Louis
• Mount Sinai West
• North Shore University Hospital
• Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
• Ochsner Health
• Overlook Medical Center
• Penn Medicine Princeton Health
Sharp Mary Birch Hospital for Women and Newborns
• Sparrow Hospital
• Stanford University School of Medicine
• Texas Children's Hospital-Pavilion for Women
• Tufts Medical Center
• University Of California, San Francisco
• University Of Minnesota Medical Center
• University of New Mexico
• University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
• Wake Forest Baptist Health
• Washington Hospital Center - Med Star
• Washington University School of Medicine
• Weill Cornell Medicine- New York Presbyterian